Red Light Green Light

Getting back on track.

That’s the saying, and that’s the way that I’m going to ease myself back into healthy habits, by treating my health like a track, or a road, or a city lane. Really, any place where a stoplight could be found is what I’m envisioning here.

stoplight

At the beginning of the year I got a small little pocket calendar. It was free, it has a pixilated scenic picture on the front, and it is now going to measure my progress and slim me down while I’m in school for this spring semester.

Each day I will mark on the pocket calendar one of three colors. Green for good (I had a really productive day), yellow for average (I could have done better today), and red for (I don’t want to talk about it let’s just move along to tomorrow).

Red light green light style I’ve created a plan that seems wonderfully capable of working for me at this moment in my life where I’m easily discouraged and disappointed in my health behavior.

IMG_3099

Not a perfect start, but a start non the less!

Each day is entirely subjective and up to my interpretation of red, yellow, or green; the calendar is general enough that I am not always comparing myself and coming up short; and this little plan is still enough to motivate me to along at the sight of the red days being engulfed around green and yellow squares.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m adding some goals along with this tracker to add some punch to my progress, but I think this seems like a great way to not beat myself up over the bad days while gradually easing myself into a healthy lifestyle again.

Leave a comment