Whoa! Slow Down There Champ

Even since this Fall into Fitness 30 Day Challenge idea sprang into my head, I seem to have sprung myself into a semi-vigorous workout routine. It seems that I am always at the gym, reflecting on the group fitness class schedule, or wondering if I can sneak a run in between classes. And that’s just no good!

slow and steady

Wait, is that a chocolate bunny?! Turn around turtle, turn around!

Don’t get me wrong, it’s great that I’m looking to be proactive about my health and am exercising more than ever, but I find myself quite tired, not eating enough, ignoring homework (to be fair I would probably ignore it without a challenge), and fairly sore from getting a move on. Who am I?! I need to get back to my slow and steady pace that I’ve come to rely on so much, and I have a few ideas on how to do just that.

Problem: I’m feel as though I’m not eating enough and I don’t want my body to go into starvation mode.

Solution: Eat more! Carry healthy nutrition bars and fruits around (Kashi bars and apples it is!). Try to eat at least 1,400 calories a day, anything less isn’t actually working in your favor and will be more likely to cause binges.

Problem: I’m feeling sore from exercising.

Solution: Recognize that it’s perfectly acceptable to take a rest day every now and again. It’s unreasonable to expect to work out every single day, and when I’m not feeling my physically best I should focus on resting up for an improved performance the next day.

Problem: I’m ignoring homework because I’m focusing too much on exercise.

Solution: Cut down exercise time to one hour a day and take those rest days. If you still really want to get going, take a book to read while on the stationary bike and try not to get motion sickness.

Problem: I’m feeling tired.

Solution: Make it a priority to get those 8 hours in ever single night. Don’t forget to stock up on foods with protein and iron, and always keep some water handy too. Tea is also a great and healthy way to add some perk to a day.

Or until you're tired or have homework or are hungry or are sore. Basically, stop whenever you feel like you need to

Or until you’re tired or have homework or are hungry or are sore. Basically, stop whenever you feel like you need to.

I am so so pumped for this challenge that I need to just slow my roll. While it’s great to really push myself for these 30 days, I am acutely aware that if I push myself too hard I won’t be able to make it through this challenge and I definitely won’t be able to continue staying fit and healthy into December.

How hard do you push yourself regularly and for challenges? Do you have any challenge related changes that are worrying you?

4 thoughts on “Whoa! Slow Down There Champ

  1. Calories are my biggest struggle! I either eat TOO many or not enough. When I am working hard my brain is like oooh I deserve more because we are working out so hard. That can be a HUGE set back. I try and keep track as best as I can. Most days I stick to my goal by using MyFitnessPal.

Leave a Reply

