I Think I Can, I Think I Can – And I Did!

i think i can trainToday was hot. And I was tired from moving into school. And I was sleepy from it being so hot. And some other excuse. So when I went running today, I wasn’t expecting a whole lot. Goes to show that you can sometimes surprise yourself.

I made it about 6 minutes into my run. Blah! I was already bummed out to be running around. I made it 3 more minutes when the heat, coupled with my sheer determination to avoid running, made me stop. Today just wasn’t my day. I didn’t even think “I think I can”. I just knew that I couldn’t.

But then I realized something revolutionary.

Just because I couldn’t run, didn’t mean that I couldn’t exercise.

I could not run today.

But I could walk today. I could go swimming today. I could hop on the elliptical today. I could hit up the weight room today.

I know that I can’t run. But I think that I can still exercise. I think that I can still sweat. I think that I can still make this day worthwhile and assure myself that I didn’t lace up for nothing.

And after a 45 minute walk around campus, I know that I can stay healthy.

2 thoughts on “I Think I Can, I Think I Can – And I Did!

  1. Sometimes, I feel that way about running, too, and I’ve also found that the best motivation can be to do something else and try running again on another day. I’m glad you were able to see all the possibilities! 🙂

Leave a Reply

