Jealous for All the Right Reasons

yellow bikini

Never in my life have I noticed so many bikinis at the beach. I’ve also failed to notice so many fit and healthy girls who wear them. What I have definitely and repeatedly noticed? How I look in my lumpy bumpy clumpy frumpy bathing suit.

There once was a time in my life where the image of toned and tan girls strutting around in their itsy bitsy teeny weeny yellow polka dot bikinis would elicit an outward grimace and an inner sigh of defeat. But, this past weekend, while enjoying the Ocean City beach, I was struck by a different perspective on a familiar emotion.

Jealousy.

However, there was no, “Look at that body, she must not eat a thing! Someone get her some chocolate STAT!”

No, “Yeah, her abs look great, but look at those highlights, gag!”

No, “Why couldn’t I be born looking that way?!?”

Instead, my green monster of jealousy took a big ol’ bite of humble pie and dreamily declared:

“Wow, she must have worked really hard to look like that.”

“I bet if I could really get a handle on my health, I could look and feel the same.”

“Someone should compliment her, but not me, because I don’t know her and that’d be creepy…”

Even though I was justifiably jealous over how fit other women were looking in their bikinis, I’m proud of myself for learning that not everything comes easily to everyone. If I want to improve on my already gorgeous physique, it’s going to take hard work instead of heated words.

celebrate bodys

As long as this new found form of jealousy encourages me to focus on improving myself instead of projecting negatively onto others, I don’t see how I can lose with so much bikini body inspiration on my side.

4 thoughts on “Jealous for All the Right Reasons

  1. This is so refreshing! It’s easy to say hateful things when you feel jealous of someone. But stepping back and realizing why you’re jealous and taking responsibility for it is a much more constructive thing to do. Thanks for pointing that out because we all need a reminder from time to time that someone else’s seemingly perfect physique didn’t necessarily come easy and we have the power to change ourselves any time we want to. Great post!

    • Thank you so much and I’m glad that you feel the same way! Jealousy doesn’t always have to be a bad thing if you use it the right way, and it’s important to recognize that individuals have power over their lives 🙂

  2. What an awesome way to look at it! You’re recognizing the humanity that binds us all rather than judging others based on appearance. That’s something I’ve been particularly struck by this summer, and something I hope to attain so that it comes more naturally to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

