Extreme Eating

garf

I wish I could take Garfield’s advice, I really do. Unfortunately, I’m an all or nothing type of gal.

This means that I’m either giving something 110% and getting neck cramps from sticking my nose so hard to the grindstone, or I’m ignoring that something completely and sticking my fingers in my ears going, “Lalalala. I can’t hear you!”

For those wondering, this is what a rainbow unicorn looks like.

For those wondering, this is what a rainbow unicorn looks like.

This makes it difficult to stay healthy.

When I’m healthy, I’m an engaging blogger (hopefully), enthusiastically lovin’ life, and taking adorable pictures of myself flipping my hair with a rainbow unicorn in the background.

When I’m unhealthy, I want to crawl under a rock with a bag of Doritos and never again see at the light of day.

I desperately wish there was a middle ground. I wish I could have my daily dose of peanut butter and exercise too. But I just don’t think that’s an option for me. Instead, I try my best to focus on constantly staying healthy (not that a piece of cake would send me plummeting into the abyss with nothing but fat pants to cushion my fall), because the other option is sending myself into a fatty foods funk that is darn near impossible to overcome.

Sorry Garfield, but let’s take an honest look at the amount of lasagna that you eat and then we’ll judge…

gar las

While I will always strive for moderation, I will accept my two extremes and try to find a compromise. While I will always strive for weight loss, I will accept any positive changes to reaching a healthier Katy. And while I will always mention Doritos and/or peanut butter in my blog posts, I will acknowledge their presence only in my virtual world, and not in my offline kitchen cabinet.

2 thoughts on “Extreme Eating

  1. I feel like you took these thoughts right out of my head! I have been feeling less-than-healthy today and all I want are some cookies. I forced myself to eat an apple this morning before work, but now I am staring at a container of cookies and thinking it’s time for a little pick-me-up. The only problem is it’s satisfying during, but not after. Hold strong girl! Put the chips out of eyesight and feel good about life 🙂 I’ll try to do the same on my end with these darn cookies!

    • Thank you so much for commenting! It’s great to know that other people are struggling with me and I was totally craving some Chex Mix today, but I’m staying away thanks to your optimism and strength!

Leave a Reply

